Feature: A Letter to My Future Husband: Why I’ve Given Up on My Search for Love

This is the second article that I pull from HUFFPOST, “The Blog”. The following is a blog written by a woman in her late 20’s, who goes into detail explaining her reasoning for giving up on her search for “THE ONE”. Although I am not 30 years old or ALMOST 30… I can relate to her words.

Here’s a taste of the piece….

“I’ve fallen deeply in love — not with one man, but with life. With myself. With chopping the vegetables and washing the dishes and smiling at strangers. I’ve found love and contentment in the smallest, simplest things…”

The full thing…..

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/therese-schwenkler/a-letter-to-my-future-husband_b_3984876.html

3 thoughts on “Feature: A Letter to My Future Husband: Why I’ve Given Up on My Search for Love

  1. Searching for love can be exasperating and really there are plenty of exciting things to do and see in this world, either alone or with other women. I am a bit (well, quite a bit) older than you and ever since my divorce almost 18 years ago I’ve been searching for THE ONE. Some came close but not close enough or sometimes not long enough. The thing is not giving up but knowing that whatever life brings you is perfect and not to forget to say thank you. Not everything needs a man to be enjoyed.
    Anyway, good luck in your search.

  2. Reblogged this on Renee LeBouef and commented:
    This resonated with me on so many levels. In the past year, I’ve gone from someone who was obsessed with finding “The One” (I hate that phrase, but felt it’s inclusion to be necessary here) to a grad student with zero time to care about a relationship at all. I’ve gone on plenty of dates and been interested in a handful of guys, but have never analyzed a situation that didn’t work out for more than 30 minutes after the fact. This is why.
    Check it out….

  3. Carol, thank you so much for sharing on your own experience. I won’t give up and I also won’t settle. I agree, a man is not needed 🙂 Thank you for your words of encouragement. I especially liked what you said, “…knowing that whatever life brings you is perfect and not to forget to say thank you”.
    -Joanna

Leave a Reply

