Step número tres

So you want to workout, you’re ready to commit, ready to start seeing results. That doesn’t mean you have to go out and check out the local gyms, compare, and get a year or a two-year membership.

I am a sucker for the gym…although I’m not crazy about sharing machinery with complete strangers, exchanging sweat, and constantly getting interrupted halfway a workout, I like it. I personally find it motivating to work in a health and fitness environment around people who are working out. I see it as a challenge! But still, not everyone feels the same. Not only are some people anti-gyms, I myself sometimes get bored with it and it is then that I start getting creative.

Step numero tres, get creative!

You do not have to workout at a gym! I’ve heard success stories from friends who took it upon themselves to go running every morning, join a kickboxing class, or a dance group…some even just, walked!

Top five workouts I perform other than gym?

1.Beach runs! Going anywhere from 7am-11am, you will come across other runners (motivation)! Working out at a beach is probably one of the most peaceful and enjoyable workouts. Still, it’s super exhausting. It is also very addicting!

2.  Hiking. Love love love hiking.  The idea of going up in the mountains, getting dirty, sweating…all with the goal of reaching the top of a mountain, end of a trail, excites me.

3. I dance. My workout since I was seven years old was dancing “ballet folkloric”. I have taken hip-hop classes, salsa, and merengue…and at the end of every one-hour class, I would be drenched in sweat! Talk about a good workout!

4. Biking/Cycling. I have yet to go out and join a group of cyclists who travel long distances. I ditch my car once in a while and instead bike to my destination. I enjoy it so much I don’t even know if it’s fair to call it a workout.

5. Classes…I am talking about kickboxing, yoga, Pilates, cycling, zumba, and pole dancing! My favorite? Kickboxing and pole dancing…you’d be surprise at the amount of strength and endurance those two require!

Step numero tres, get creative! Because although going to the gym five times a week sounds so tempting…it’s always fun to try new things, get creative and get dirty?

Leave a Reply

