“I’m on a mission, to be HEALTHY…”

College years, the “Best days of your life”, are also probably the UN-HEALTHIEST. You go from eating home cooked meals every day to fast food, microwaveable food, deliver? Your first semester in College you encounter the fresh 15, fresh 30, or fresh 50? You go from maybe playing sports in High School or being forced into P.E. classes TO absolutely no workouts at all! So for the next four, five years, you not only take part in very little physical activity but your lifestyle consists of obsessive studying, sleepless nights, anxiety, insomnia and of course, college parties.

So from the moment that I finished school, in December of 2010, and as part of my new year’s resolution I took it upon myself to live a healthier lifestyle and/or lose a few pounds. Dieting, calorie counting, gym time was the way I started off. Three-day diets, or starving yourself for three days wasn’t very fun. Calorie counting became an obsession I also didn’t like. And Gym time started off as a two maybe three days of gym in a week to an obsessive six and at many times seven times a week! I started seeing results, yes, BUT my mission was not only to shed pounds but lead a healthy lifestyle…. So based on my own personal experience and A LOT OF research I have come to a few conclusions:

1. SLEEP IS A NECESSITY! 8 hours min.

2. Physical Activity=key. At least 2 workouts a week but no more than 5. Don’t let it take over your life!

3. Realistic Expectations… cutting out all sugars, treats and desserts off the bat is only going to cause you to binge in the end.

4. Consistency! Keep your tummy full at all times! 3 meals and 4 snacks a day. Don’t under-eat or over-eat!

5. SPOIL YOURSELF. You HAVE to spoil yourself once a week and eat your favorite greasy, sugary dessert etc.

6. DRINK WATER! Don’t overdo it.

The Sonoma diet is the most recent, top rated diet out there right now (based on my research). Because I don’t want to obsess with a diet anymore, I’m simply taking its tips and making sure I have the key components for weight loss:

Whole grains, such as brown rice, barley, bulgur, oatmeal, wild rice, and whole-wheat breads, crackers, and pastas are rich in niacin, riboflavin, iron, zinc, magnesium, thiamin, vitamin E and contains fiber, protein and carbohydrates.

Almonds are the most nutritionally dense nut. A handful of almonds will give you a healthy amount of vitamin E and magnesium, as well as fiber, calcium, potassium, phosphorous, iron, monosaturated fat, and protein.

Bell peppers are an excellent source of vitamin C and A, and a good source of vitamin B6, dietary fiber, vitamin K, manganese, folate, potassium, vitamin B1 and vitamin E.

Tomatoes are full of lycopene, vitamin C, and vitamin A.

Broccoli is a powerful anticancer food and rich in calcium, iron, magnesium, vitamin A, and vitamin C.

Grapes can help protect you against heart disease, bad cholesterol, and tumors with their polyphenols.

Spinach has lutein, niacin, zinc, protein, and vitamins A, C, E, K, and B6.

Blueberries are the number one food for antioxidant benefits.

Strawberries are great for vitamin C and flavonoids.

Olive oil contains the good fats and antioxidants.

And I’ve learned to slowly eliminate the bad stuff: MAYONNAISE, ENERGY DRINKS, SALT, SWEETENED CREAMERS, CHIPS, COOKIES, ALCOHOOOOL, BREAD, TORTILLAS, SODA….

I’m not a nutritionist or a dietician. This is all based on my own experience and research. I am determined to keep learning and lead a healthy lifestyle not only so that I can be healthy but I can look healthy too… A small waist and glowing skin please!

One thought on ““I’m on a mission, to be HEALTHY…”

  1. From what I’ve learned approx. 25 almonds a day! I agree with everything you say, based on my own research! Keep it up for a long and healthy life!

Leave a Reply

